Thomson Foundation 2022 Journalist Award for Journalists worldwide


As part of our prestigious Young Journalist Award 2022, the Thomson Foundation is giving six rising stars the opportunity to meet with six of the best journalists in the industry, learnallpro reports.

This year’s award will also be noteworthy for another reason. Our three finalists will be able to attend the glittering ceremony in London for the first time in two years. Due to the pandemic of the last two years, finalists could only attend virtually.


For our 60th anniversary, we’ve added a new feature called ‘Connect 6.’ To commemorate the foundation’s six decades, our three finalists and the next three highest on our shortlist will be mentored for six months by six established journalists from our alumni.

The Thomson Foundation is a non-profit media development organization based in London, England, but operating globally. It was the first charitable foundation established in 1962 with the specific goal of training journalists in developing countries. In 2012, it celebrated its 50th anniversary.

Entrepreneurs Organization – Thomson Foundation – Journalist Award Type
School to study Country to study
Unspecified course of study
Country of Origin
Gender – Male and Female
The deadline for applications is August 12, 2022.
The Journalist Award’s Advantages
The mentorship program will be open to the three Young Journalist Award finalists.
The remaining three will be chosen from a shortlist of 12 as part of our ongoing investment in ethical, independent, and trusted journalism.
If you are one of the six chosen, you will be given a one-of-a-kind support package and paired with an established journalist from our extensive alumni network who is based in your region.
They’ll teach you how their exclusives and investigations have changed the world, and how yours can do the same.
Furthermore, all 12 journalists on the shortlist will be featured on our website and social media channels, as well as receive a certificate from Thomson Foundation recognizing the high quality of their work.
Also see Irish Aid. Ferguson, Frank Engineering Fellowship for Zambian Students 2022
Qualification Criteria for Journalist Awards
The Thomson Foundation Young Journalist Award, co-sponsored by the UK Foreign Press Association (FPA), is open to journalists aged 30 and under from countries with a GNP per capita of less than $20,000.
Those who meet the criteria are encouraged to submit a portfolio of three published pieces of work created in the 12 months preceding the submission deadline of August 12, 2022.
They can be in any format, including print, audio, video, and multimedia.
Scholarships for International Students at NTU in the United Kingdom are also available.
Key dates for the interview, the process, and the location of the Journalist Award

Entry deadline: August 12, 2022

Entries must be submitted by 23:59 UK time on the deadline night.

A lengthy list of 12 announcements: World News Day, September 28, 2022

w/c 3 October 2022: a list of six announcements

Three finalists will be announced on October 10, 2022.

The winner of the Young Journalist Award will be announced on November 28, 2022, at the FPA Awards.

The deadline for applications is August 12, 2022.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.